Start typing to see products you are looking for.
  • Categories
  • Menu

Shopping cart




14 States and 5 Cities require 10 Year Smoke Alarms (LIST)

 (Updated: 09/12/18)

The historical national slogan “Change your clock, change your battery,” may not apply to these households residing in states who require alarms with a 10-year battery. 14 states and 6 cities have passed legislation that requires ionization-only smoke alarms that are solely battery powered to come equipped with a 10-year battery. Some states like California also require alarms to have a hush feature.


States requiring 10-year smoke and carbon monoxide detectors:

  • California - law #UL 217 #UL 2034 Senate Bill 745
  • Florida - law #553.883
  • Georgia
  • Illinois (2022)
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • New York - law #S4054A #A3057a #S2696a
  • North Carolina - Senate Bill 77
  • Oregon - law #HB2586
  • Vermont

Cities requiring 10-year smoke and carbon monoxide detectors:

  • Indianapolis – IN
  • Louisville - KY  
  • Madison – WI
  • Milwaukee –WI
  • Philadelphia, PA
  • Phoenix - AZ

We have an extensive line of 10-year smoke and carbon monoxide detectors. Contractors and property management firms call us to get your discounts on bulk orders. Call us at 201-351-1900 for more info.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up to be notified of sales and special deals!

Be the first to be notified of our latest deals.

Scroll To Top