The historical national slogan “Change your clock, change your battery,” may not apply to these households residing in states who require alarms with a 10-year battery. 14 states and 6 cities have passed legislation that requires ionization-only smoke alarms that are solely battery powered to come equipped with a 10-year battery. Some states like California also require alarms to have a hush feature.
States requiring 10-year smoke and carbon monoxide detectors:
- California - law #UL 217 #UL 2034 Senate Bill 745
- Florida - law #553.883
- Illinois (2022)
- New York - law #S4054A #A3057a #S2696a
- North Carolina - Senate Bill 77
- Oregon - law #HB2586
Cities requiring 10-year smoke and carbon monoxide detectors:
- Indianapolis – IN
- Louisville - KY
- Madison – WI
- Milwaukee –WI
- Philadelphia, PA
- Phoenix - AZ
We have an extensive line of 10-year smoke and carbon monoxide detectors. Contractors and property management firms call us to get your discounts on bulk orders. Call us at 201-351-1900 for more info.